Share this release

Next Release

Various Artists
"Unabombers presents - Electric Chair RIP EP"

Manchester Legends the Unabombers (aka Luke Cowdrey and Justin Crawford) have teamed up with noo disco kings Tirk to release this, the third, momentous volume in their ‘Electric Chair’ compilation series, celebrating over a decade of music and the end of their legendary club ‘Electric Chair’.
The duo spent 13 years rocking the savvier end of Manchester clubland with a dazzling array of guests and their own blend of disco, hip hop, deep funk, Detroit techno and acid house at just two venues, before finally shutting up shop late last year.
The album’s due out mid October (with a preview version streamed here) and as a taster we’ve got a splendid DJ-friendly promo coming that makes a pretty good attempt to capture a bit of the spirit of the Chair in just three tracks .
The story behind the Joubert Singers’ ‘Stand on the Word’ goes back to early eighties New York, but has become topical again with the controversy surrounding the Keedz cover version that’s blowing up at the moment (is it Justice in disguise? Is it rubbish? Have Universal France deliberately made sure everyone thinks it’s Justice etc etc). You can read more about the story behind it on the blog ( But to cut a long story short: 1980ish, Walter Gibbons parties too much; finds God and a job behind the counter of 7th Avenue Rock and Soul; starts playing customers his favourite gospel tunes, including local choir the Joubert Singers ‘Stand on the Word’, which in turn becomes a Zanzibar, Loft and Garage favourite. Enter Larry Levan stage left with a Paradise Garage destroying remix/edit and an enduring underground classic is born.
We’re still trying to get over the fact that Daniel Wang’s ‘Like a Dream ‘(I Cant Stop dreaming )’’ first came out in 1993 – this Sleeque sampling, 4/4 groover
sounds as good today as it would have in 2003 or indeed 1983. Six and half minutes of new school/old school discoid glory, strutting and preening it’s way towards a bright new day.
No strutting and preening from SUAD’s 1995 conscious anthem ‘Black Men United’. Just raw, undiluted roughneck hip hop that could have come from Dilla-era Detroit, but was in reality straight outta post Thatcher-Hackney. Rare as hensteeth on vinyl and an Electric Chair favourite from the early days. This as much sums up the sweaty, hedonistic, funk fuelled spirit of the Electric Chair as Wang’s disco or Jouberts’ exhultant gospel and like those two, will sound as good on today’s more eclectic dancefloors as it ever did.

Unabombers Presents Various Artists
Electric Chair RIP EP
1) Joubert Singers - Stand On The Word (Larry Levan Mix)
2) Daniel Wang - Like Some Dream (I Cant Stop Dreaming)
3) Shut Up and Dance - Blackmen United (Instrumental)
Taken from the compilation album - Electric Chair Saved My Life
1) Written by Phyliss Joubert. Published by Copyright Control
Licenced courtesy of Next Plateau Entertainment Inc.
2) Written by Daniel Wang. Published by Bass Line Hustle Music / Hydro Electric Music
Licenced courtesy of Balihu
3) Written by PJ and Smiley. Published by Copyright Control
Licenced courtesy of Demon Music Group Ltd from Amazon Records Ltd
Taken from Album 'Black Men United'
(C) Tirk 2008
Physical: A1=1 B1=2 B2=3
Physical CD Promo, 1,2,3

1. Joubert Singers - Stand On The Word [Larry Levan Mix] Buy Track ( 0.94)
2. Daniel Wang - Like Some Dream I Can't Stop Dreaming Buy Track ( 0.94)
3. Shut Up And Dance - Blackmen United [Instrumental] Buy Track ( 0.94)
Buy All Tracks ( 2.62)