Share this release

Next Release

Various Artists

Tirk 01 is both a summary to date and a statement of intent...

Tirk is the current imprint from Nuphonic, one of the UK's top independent music companies. The label's releases span, and in some case defy, genres - from the 'kraut-pop' of Fujiya & Miyagi to the infectious new-wave pop-punk of New Young Pony Club, to the classic electro and disco re-edits of UK DJ pioneer Greg Wilson. Tirk manages to appeal to pop fans, disco purists and trendy art-school kids alike.
Now, Tirk presents the first in its series of label compilations "Tirk 01", representing the first two years of the label's existence.
Included are classic Tirk releases such as the Idjut Boys epic re-edit of "A Place Called Tarot" by underground disco legends Tantra and the first ever release from current indie darlings New Young Pony Club, alongside current favourites from Sugardaddy (Tom Findlay of Groove Armada's side project) and the critically acclaimed Fujiya & Miyagi.
Most exciting, however, is the inclusion of a glimpse into Tirk's future with, amongst others, the Detroit and italo--influenced "Rocquet" by Italy's Love Supreme, Balearic infused bliss from the mysterious Sorcerer, sinister horror soundtracks from Evil Eye and a sneak peak at the forthcoming debut album from electro-crooner George Demure.
In addition to its original releases, Tirk has built a reputation for top quality compilation and retrospective albums. Tirk 01 showcases this by including some of the finest tracks taken from Greg Wilson's "Credit To The Edit", the first volume in the "Press Play" series compiled by the Idjut Boys, the forthcoming follow-up put together by The Bees and "Hear My Song", Tirk's tribute to the inimitable Louie Austen, the man they call the electronic Frank Sinatra.
Tirk 01 is both a summary to date and a statement of intent from one of the most exciting independent labels to emerge in the last few years, underlining the label's commitment to releasing new and exciting music, whichever form it may take.

1. Fujiya & Miyagi - Cassettesingle Buy Track ( 0.94)
2. Tantra - A Place Called Tarot Buy Track ( 0.94)
3. New Young Pony Club - Tight Fit Buy Track ( 0.94)
4. Fujiya & Miyagi - Ankle Injuries Buy Track ( 0.94)
5. Louie Austen - Grab My Shaft Buy Track ( 0.94)
6. Rockers Revenge - Walking On Sunshine [Greg Wilson Edit] Buy Track ( 0.94)
7. Sugardaddy - Love Honey Buy Track ( 0.94)
8. George Demure - Forgive Me Elisa Buy Track ( 0.94)
9. Love Supreme - Rocquet Buy Track ( 0.94)
10. George Demure - All The Rage Buy Track ( 0.94)
11. Sorcerer - Surfing At Midnight Buy Track ( 0.94)
12. Evil Eye - Holiday Du Zombi Buy Track ( 0.94)
13. Dungen - Jamna Plagor Buy Track ( 0.94)
Buy All Tracks ( 8.55)